Orange County Unpaid Overtime & Wages Lawyer
OVERTIME & UNPAID WAGE DISPUTES IN Orange County, CALIFORNIA
INTERESTED IN FILING A WAGE OR OVERTIME CLAIM in Orange County?
State and federal employment laws establish a number of wage requirements with which employers must fully comply. From minimum wage standards to overtime wage requirements, employers must comply with relevant laws when paying their employees for their services. When employers fail to do so, employees have the right to file claims that dispute an employer’s actions and the amount of wages received.
At Diefer Law Group, P.C., our Southern California employment attorneys can help you understand:
- Your employee rights
- The wages to which you are entitled
- How we can guide you through the wage dispute process
TYPES OF WAGE OR OVERTIME DISPUTES in Orange County, CA
If you wish to file a wage or overtime claim, allow a member of our legal team to clarify all the laws that apply to your case! Both state and federal laws outline wage and overtime requirements for nonexempt, or hourly, employees. We have outlined a few important factors regarding wages and overtime.
- As of January 2013, the current minimum wage in California is $8.00 per hour.
- If you are a part-time worker, you should be given a 30-minute, unpaid meal period for every 5 hours worked in a day. You must also be authorized to take a 10-minute paid rest break for every 4 hours worked in a day. If you are a full-time worker, you should be given an hour’s lunch break each day.
OVERTIME FOR HOURLY EMPLOYEES
- In California, hourly employees are entitled to overtime pay that equates to 1.5 times their regular hourly rate for all hours worked in excess of 8 in a day and for all hours worked in excess of 40 in a workweek.
- When an employee works in excess of 12 hours in 1 day, they must be compensated at a rate of twice their regular hourly rate.
- When employers attempt to intentionally misclassify employees as salaried employees to avoid paying them overtime wages, they can be held fully accountable for their wage violations.
- Employers can be held liable for wage violations against salaried workers, including unpaid leave or time off, when applicable.
- Exempt employees from overtime pay include independent contractors, some professionals, executives and administrators.
- Other exempt individuals include outside traveling salespeople, some government employees and personal attendants.
- California laws allow you to collect overtime pay for work that you performed up to three years before you filed a formal complaint against your employer.
- If you file a claim with the Labor Commissioner or the court, your employer cannot retaliate against you (or fire, demote or suspend you). For more information see “Employer Retaliation.”
WE CAN HELP RESOLVE YOUR MATTER!
California law has established strict standards as to who can be paid a salary and be exempt from overtime wages. In any case of wage or overtime disputes, our Southern California employment lawyers conduct in-depth investigations, collect and secure all relevant information and work closely with you to ensure that your rights are protected and that your employer is held liable for failing to comply with relevant laws.
If you believe that you have been misclassified as a salaried employee and are owed overtime wages, if you are an hourly employee who has not been paid all of your overtime wages, or if you wish to learn more about filing any type of wage or overtime dispute, then please request a free case evaluation as soon as possible.
Equipped with more than 60 years of combined practice, extensive litigation experience, and an emphatic commitment to securing the best possible results for our clients, our Southern California employment attorneys are here to fight for your rights and the maximum compensation possible.
Contact Diefer Law Group to learn more about your potential claim.